My Dead-Simple System to Build a Daily Writing Habit (That You Can Actually Stick To)

Writer Ash
3 min readNov 26, 2023
Photo by Daniel Thomas on Unsplash

I earned $247 in June with just 4 articles, but by writing daily in August, I made $2,297.

Transforming my writing habits multiplied my earnings by 10x, and you can do it too.

Here’s my Dead-Simple system for developing daily writing habits and generating unlimited ideas every time you sit down to write.

1. One Routine, One Sentence

Starting a writing journey requires a clear routine. Instead of vague goals, specify when, where, and for how long you’ll write.

Bad way to build a writing habit: “I want to start writing.”

Good way to build a writing habit: “Every morning at 8 AM, I’ll sit at my desk with coffee and write for 30 minutes.”

Defining your routine sets the stage for consistency.

2. Use Sacred Hours

Find out your Sacred Hours — times when you’re most productive.

Commit to a small, consistent writing session during these times, starting with just 15 minutes and increasing over time.

3. Build Your Publishing Schedule

--

--